Home News Netflix’s ‘Navarasa’ : Musical Celebration ‘Symphony Of Emotions’ On 5th August

Netflix’s ‘Navarasa’ : Musical Celebration ‘Symphony Of Emotions’ On 5th August

By Binged Binged Bureau - August 2, 2021 @ 5:21 pm

Netflix's 'Navarasa' : Musical Celebration 'Symphony Of Emotions' On 5th AugustNetflix has just announced a musical celebration of upcoming anthology series ‘Navarasa‘ on August 5th, with the caption- “Set your reminders to embark on a musical journey celebrating the nine emotions with the cast and crew of #Navarasa this Thursday! Marakkama Vaanga! #SymphonyOfEmotions”

Created by Mani Ratnam and Jayendra Panchapakesan, the 9 part anthology series, based on the 9 emotions/rasas, marks the coming together of 9 Kollywood directors, namely Bejoy Nambiar, Gautham Vasudev Menon, Priyadarshan, Karthik Subbaraj, Vasanth S. Sai, Karthick Naren, Sarjun KM, Rathindran R. Prasad and Arvind Swamy, who makes his directorial debut. Embarking on this journey of bringing each rasa to life, is a magnificent ensemble cast featuring Suriya, Vijay Sethupathi, Prasanna, Revathy, Aditi Balan, Parvathy Thiruvothu, Prakash Raj, Siddharth, Delhi Ganesh, Prayaga Martin, Yogi Babu and Arvind Swami himself, amongst others.

The music and background score has been put together by 9 composers, namely- A. R Rahman, Santhosh Narayanan, Sundaramurthy KS, Rajesh Murugesan, Karthik, Ron Ethan Yohann, Govind Vasantha, Justin Prabhakaran and Vishal Bhardwaj. There are a total of 9 songs in the series, the first being the ‘Navarasa Theme’, composed by A.R. Rahman, that was revealed in the anthology’s teaser.

Gautham Menon’s segment, ‘Guitar Kambi Mele Nindru’, featuring Suriya and Prayaga Martin in the lead, explores the emotion of Love. The musical segment has 4 tracks, ‘Thooriga’, ‘Alai Alaiyaaga’, ‘Naanum’, and ‘Adhirudha’, by singer-turned-composer Karthik, who has also previously composed for the Netflix series ‘Paava Kadhaigal’.

Director Sarjun’s segment ‘Thunintha Pin’ starring Atharvaa Murali and Anjali in the lead, explores the emotion of Courage. The music score for this episode has been composed by Sundaramurthy KS, featuring the songs ‘The Bleeding Heart-Osara Parandhu Vaa’ and ‘The Comrade Theme’.

Govind Vasantha’s (of ’96 fame) song ‘Yaadho’, in Chinmayi’s voice was composed for Bejoy Nambiar’s segment, ‘Edhiri’, exploring the emotion of Compassion, starring Vijay Sethupathi, Revathy and Prakash Raj in the lead.

Justin Prabhakaran (of ‘Dear Comrade’ fame) has composed the music for director Vasanth Sai’s episode ‘Payasam’, which explores the emotion of Disgust, starring Aditi Balan in the lead with Delhi Ganesh and Rohini in supporting roles. The melodious, classical song ‘Kannunjal’, was released from this segment.

Arvind Swami directed segment on the emotion of Anger, ‘Roudhram’, featuring Rythvika and director Rathindran R. Prasad’s segment, on the emotion of Fear, ‘Inmai’ starring Siddharth and Parvathy, do not have songs. There are 3 other episodes that do not feature songs, but have background scores composed for them. Karthick Naren’s sci-fi segment on the emotion of Wonder, ‘Project Agni’, starring Arvind Swami and Prasanna, has Ron Ethan Yohann composing the background score. Santhosh Narayanan has composed the background score for Karthik Subbaraj’s segment ‘Peace’, starring Bobby Simhaa and Gautham Menon in the lead, based on the emotion of Peace. On the other hand, Rajesh Murugesan has put together the background score for Priyadarshan’s segment based on Laughter, ‘Summer of 92’, featuring comedian Yogi Babu and Ramya Nambessan in the lead.

This anthology series is a one-of-its-kind initiative aimed at raising funds and extending support to the Tamil film fraternity impacted by the pandemic. Reportedly, none of the actors and directors have charged any remuneration for their work in the series and all the proceeds from the project will be donated to this cause. ‘Navarasa’ is set to premiere on Netflix on 6th August.Follow us on Google News